About Us

Executive Directors

Heine Prinsloo – BComm, LLB, LLM, HDip (Tax) (South African)

CEO of Mettle Investments

Heine’s studies included finance, law and tax. After qualifying as an attorney, Heine joined Arthur Andersen in 1990 where he specialised in structured finance. In 1995 he co-founded Mettle Investments, heading up the structured finance division and overseeing the establishment of the proprietary funding businesses in Mettle Investments.

Tom Flannery (British)

Executive Director of Mettle Investments, Joint MD of Reward

Tom’s expertise covers many disciplines, including banking and all forms of secured lending, such as invoice finance, bridging loans, hire purchase and leasing. Tom’s considerable experience includes more than 30 years in secured lending, mainly with Yorkshire Bank, Euro Sales Finance and RBS. Before founding Reward – and building the business into a market-leading position – he was responsible for establishing Euro Sales Finance Leeds.

Justin Rookledge – CA(SA) (South African)

CFO of Mettle Investments

Justin attended the University of Cape Town and qualified as a chartered accountant in 2002 having completed his articles at PWC. He was appointed as senior audit manager in 2005 where his clients included Cadiz, Mettle and Control Instruments. Justin joined Mettle Investments in February 2009 as a financial manager and was appointed as FD in September 2016. Justin is currently responsible for the entire financial operations of Mettle Investments’ South African operations and will take over responsibility for the Mettle Investments group of companies.

Non-Executive Directors

Raymond Fenner, CA (SA), Grad Dip Tax, MComm (South African)

Non-Executive Director – Lead Independent

Raymond has more than 20 years’ experience in both the private and public sectors.  He previously held senior financial management positions at Syfrets (Pty) Ltd (which now forms part of the Nedbank Group) and Seagram SA (Pty) Ltd.  Mr Fenner currently serves as a non-executive director on a number of companies, including Table Mountain Aerial Cableway Company (Pty) Ltd and is an independent member of the audit and risk committee of the South African Rugby Union.

Friedrich Esterhuyse – CA(SA) (South African)

Non-Executive Chairman

After his articles, Friedrich specialised in corporate and international tax in the Cape Town and Amsterdam offices of PWC where he gained extensive experience in the areas of transaction structuring, re-organisations, mergers and acquisitions, international group structures and investment to and from South Africa. During this time, Friedrich lectured part-time at the University of Stellenbosch and its Business School in the MBA Programme. In 2001 Friedrich joined Mettle Investments’ Debt Division where he has been involved in the successful structuring and implementation of several large funding transactions. Friedrich was appointed to the board of directors of Mettle Investments in November 2004 and is currently the Joint CEO of Tradehold following the purchase of Mettle Investments by Tradehold in March 2014.

Marco Wentzel – (South African)

Non-Executive Director – Independent

Marco lived in Europe for ten years where he was an executive director at Legion Sports Management. In 2013 he returned to South Africa and is currently Chairman of JSE listed mining company Trans Hex Group, alluvial mining company West Coast Resources, logistics company Truckworx SA and renewable energy company Brinmar. He serves on the board directors of JSE listed investment holding company Stellar Capital, building supply company Quantech and Advantage Health, a company that specializes in wealth management.

Bruce Chelius – CA(SA) CFA (South African)

Non-Executive Director – Independent

Bruce completed his articles at Deloitte, following which he spent time in the Corporate Finance and Private Equity teams of Standard Bank and BoE Bank. In 2004, Bruce established Collins Private Equity where he serves as MD. Bruce has been a director of a numerous unlisted companies and he currently sits on the boards of Eveready Batteries and Nordland Lighting (where he acts as Chairman). In addition, Bruce is a member of the Investment Committee of TBI Strategic Partners.